Spicy Sausage & Lentil Lasagne

sausage and lentil Lasagne

 

It’s the end of the month. everybody’s waiting for payday and money’s tight so, I was trying to decide, in my boredom at work, what I could cook for dinner with the odd bits and pieces I have in the cupboard, and, of course, keeping it super healthy.

I had some leftover Cauldron sausages from a bbq at the weekend but was really craving lasagne. I’ve recently gone off soy mince a little so I decided to replace it with lentils which had a similar texture but also incredibly healthy! I asked my fellow colleagues what they thought of a lentil and sausage lasagne and they looked at me repulsed. Even the patient in my chair shook their head in disgust.

I was convinced it would be delicious though! I mean, there’s such thing as a sausage and lentil stew… I’m just adding extra carbs! Double carbs, can’t be bad eh? I bulked it out with spinach and mushrooms as well, making a serving 2 of your 5 a day! Guess what? It was delicious, delicious enough to have 2 days in a row and delicious enough for my carnivore father’s approval!

Ingredients:
▪ 75g Red lentils
▪ 150g Spinach roughly chopped
▪ 250g mushrooms chopped
▪ 6 Cauldron sausages
▪ 6 Lasagne sheets
▪ 600ml Passata
▪ 400g Tin of chopped tomatoes
▪ 2tbsp Tomato puree
▪ 1tsp Marmite
▪ 3tsp Italian herbs
▪ 2tsp Cayenne pepper
▪ 1 Red onion diced
▪ 3 Garlic cloves crushed
▪ Vegetable stock cube
▪ 1tsp Dried chillies
▪ 150g of your favourite cheese grated
▪ 10 Cherry tomatoes halved

Start with a large saucepan and add your onion and garlic. Soften in a little vegetable oil for 2 minutes.

Now add your chopped tomatoes, passata, Italian herbs, marmite, chilli flakes, cayenne pepper, vegetable stock cube, your lentils and salt and pepper to taste.

On a medium heat place a lid on your saucepan and allow it to simmer for 15 minutes or until lentils are soft, stirring occasionally.

Add your chopped mushrooms and spinach into the sauce in the last 2 minutes of cooking.

Remove your sausages from the oven and chop into small chunks, add this to the sauce too and mix in well. (if your sauce is a little thin thicken up with some cornflour and water. 1tsp to 3tsp water, mix in a cup first then slowly pour in whilst stirring. Repeat if needed)

Get yourself a large glass ovenproof dish around 12x12x5inch.

Using a large serving spoon start to layer your lasagne mixture and sheets. Personally, I go sauce, pasta sheets, sauce, pasta sheets, sauce, pasta sheets, sauce, cheese!

On the top layer of sauce add your halved cherry tomatoes and cheese, the cheese of your choice (vegan or veggie).

Bake this in an oven at 200° for 20 minutes. Allow to sit for 5 minutes before serving, this allows cutting to be a bit easier, it shouldn’t fall apart.

Serve up with some homemade chips or a huge fresh salad or both!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

